+44 (0) 1992 511521

Mon - Fri 08:30 - 17:00

Employers and Technicians

IMI Accreditation is a practical, non-academic way to demonstrate individual capability, providing independent proof of current competence, knowledge and skills. 

There are 17 disciplines within the IMI Accreditation  scheme, each with different career levels from Service Maintenance & Parts Advisor through to Senior Customer Service, Diagnostic and Master Technician.

IMI Accreditation

Each IMI Accreditation  is made up of a combination of knowledge and practical assessments.  IMI Accredited individuals have proven themselves to be competent in their discipline and upstanding to an ethical Code of Conduct.

IMI Accreditation is valid for 3 years from the successful date of completion for the assessments.

IMI Accreditation has been developed to offer modular assessments (AOMs).

IMI Accreditation Routes

There are 17 IMI Accreditation routes, ranging from Light Vehicle Inspection to Customer Service and Sales, each with different career levels. All accreditation routes are made up of Assessed Outcome Modules (AOMs) that are taken as part of the assessment of competence.

Individuals can also take Standalone Assessed Outcome Modules in a specific area such as Resistance Spot Welding (BS1140) / MAG Welding (BS4872), which acknowledges the skills possessed by a technician and are recognised by certain British Standards, but does not result in a full IMI Accreditation, or inclusion on the IMI Professional Register.

View the View the IMI Accreditation routes »

Wendy Hennessy

+44 (0) 1992 511521